MotorBar: 1200+ unique in-depth car reviews. Plus travel & destinations, and 1000 DVD and CD reviews. Online for 14 years. Written by experts.
Follow MotorBar on Twitter


the good news

new car

CDs & music videos


travel &

win stuff

top reads

© 2000-2017
All rights

Temposhark The Invisible Line [album]
Temposhark: The Invisible Line “Living up to the early
  promise of their two
  critically-acclaimed EPs
  from 2006, Temposhark
  has pulled off a
  remarkable debut album
  — The Invisible Line

  with twelve original songs
  to brighten your day...”


A GUTSY, PRECISE AND MELODIC first album for Temposhark, The Invisible Line appears to toe the line musically before breaking out into something completely different they may speak softly but they carry a big (rhythm) stick and they are full of surprises.

Setting out their wares as one of the most exciting electronic rock acts on the UK music scene, Temposhark is made up of Robert Diament on vocals, Luke Busby on synths, Mark Ferguson on bass and Mathis Richet on drums. The harmonies are great, vocals sometimes appro-priately tender; and they are always good to listen to.

The album was produced by Sean McGhee (Kate Havnevik/Robyn / Sugababes) with two tracks produced by Guy Sigsworth (Madonna / Björk / FrouFrou). Other notable collaborations include singer Imogen Heap, Youth (Killing Joke / U2 / The Verve's Urban Hymns) and virtuoso violinist Sophie Solomon. Awesome!

The Temposhark sound is based on contrasts. Rich vocals are laid down against rhythmic beats and heavy rock basslines. Its no surprise therefore that The Invisible Line is loaded with contrasts as well — the album spans a variety of musical genres that include synthesised pop, underground electronica, angst rock and filmscore-esque chill out. So whilst they are beloved of the London club scene, they are set apart from other electronic-orientated acts by their love of writing songs with lush arrangements.

Temposhark: The Invisible LineThe album begins with the striking Don't Mess With Me, a song that tells the tale of an egomaniac spiralling out of control. Joy is a piece of dirty, synth pop with pouty beats that seem to strut their way out of the stereo. The chorus is as catchy as they come; and already has fans raucously singing along at every live show.
It's irresistible, frivolous funk that references summer love. One of Temposhark's most popular songs, Blame follows. With an epic pop chorus, this will be the first single to be lifted from the album. Co-written with legendary producer Youth, It's Better To Have Loved is a sublime, soul-searching number produced by the world renowned Guy Sigsworth and features deep dub basslines and soaring strings in the chorus; perfectly reflecting the band's more chilled-out stylings where Diament's vocals sound delicate and deeply emotive. Softer tracks are delivered to stir enough emotion without hamming it up.

Wherever possible, Temposhark collaborates with the artistes they respect most. Imogen Heap, two-time Grammy nominee, provides guest vocals on Not That Big and helps to take this epic record to another dimension with her operatic harmonies — magic. Diament and Heap sing this male vs female duet to create the ultimate anti-love song, loaded with heavy bass guitars and rock angst.

Tracks like Knock Me Out, Crime and the digital bonus track Neon Question Mark are full of sex, sass and electro sleaze; whilst Little White Lie is a darker, rockier number with razor sharp lyrics. Then you come to the beautifully-crafted electronic ballads such as Battleships and Winter's Coming — again produced and co written with Guy Sigsworth — with its revealing lyrics about losing a loved one.

And the spellbinding melodies of Invisible Ink are only enhanced by the song's big lyrical message: Make it better, work hard, leave your mark — don't leave the world without making them think. We loved the sexy, folky whispers, gentle rhythms and uplifting music on The Invisible Line.

Temposhark have seduced the British alternative scene in both the seediest clubs (Nag Nag Nag / Electrogogo / Kashpoint / Computer Blue) and the rockiest live venues (Barfly / Marquee / Koko). They have a strong US fanbase and influential LA radio station KCRW has already begun spinning several tracks from The Invisible Line. KCRW was responsible for breaking Coldplay, Sigur Rós, Jem, Damien Rice and Norah Jones in the States.

Temposhark had two showcases at SXSW in Austin, Texas, in March 2007 and they completed a very successful tour of the USA and Canada in June 2007, supporting Darren Hayes. Tour dates included sell-out shows in New York, Chicago, Toronto, San Francisco and Los Angeles. In September they were back in New York for a gig at New York Fashion Week, converting more fans to their sound — a sound that has already gained them more than 555,000 plays on MySpace. Further tours are planned in the US in 2008.

Just when you thought it was safe… Temposhark is happily exercising its jaws and getting into the swim.

Temposhark's album, The Invisible Line, will be released on 7 April (2008).

1 Don't Mess With Me | 2 Joy | 3 Blame | 4 It's Better To Have
Loved | 5 Not That Big (featuring Imogen Heap) | 6 Knock Me Out |
7 Crime | 8 Battleships | 9 Little White Lie | 10 Invisible Ink (Prelude) |
11 Invisible Ink | 12 Winter's Coming | 13 Invisible Ink (Reprise) (HIDDEN TRACK) | 14 Neon Question Mark (digital-only BONUS TRACK).

"The Invisible Line… is incredibly good" —

"You will be hanging their picture on your wall" — NME

"Star quality pours out of Temposhark" — Mark Moore (S'Express/

"Ace Newcomers" — Time Out

"Just magnificent" —

"A direct descendent of Depeche Mode's finest moments" —

"The Invisible Line… Just when you thought it was safe… Temposhark
is happily exercising its jaws and getting into the swim" — MotorBar

Check out and